Law Making Process Notes for Legislative Principles and Law Making Process

Posted on • Updated on

Role of Law Commission


– The Nepal Law Commission was first constituted by an executive decision in 1953.

– 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th commissions were constituted respectively. These all were temporary in nature.

– Till the 5th Law Commission, it is constituted by the executive decision.

– NLC was given permanent status only in 1984.

– In the year 2007, the commission was given statutory body under the “Nepal Law Commission Act, 2007.”

Establishment of The Nepal Law commission:

(1) The Nepal Law Commission
has hereby been established for drafting and codification of laws, amendment, unification and review of prevailing laws as well as to conduct study and research on law and justice.

Composition of the Commission:

(1) The Commission shall be constituted as follows.

(a) A person appointed by the Government of Nepal from among those who has served as already a Justice of the Supreme Court a person being qualified for the same post Chairperson.
(b) A person appointed by the Government of Nepal from among those having already discharged the duty as a
Gazetted Special Class of Nepal Judicial Service, or a person having worked as a law-practitioner in the capacity of Senior Advocate or Advocate at least for fifteen years, or a person having gained experience of teaching, research, drafting of law or in the sector of law or justice at least for fifteen years. Vice-Chairperson
(c) Three persons, in maximum, having at least one women nominated by Government of Nepal from
among the persons qualified under clause (b) above. Member
(d) Secretary, Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs. Member
(e) Secretary (law), Office of the Prime Minister and council of ministers. Member
(f) Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General Member
(g) Secretary Member Secretary

(2) There shall be a Recommendation committee to recommend the name for the appointment and nomination of chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and Members of the commission to the Government of Nepal, as follows:

(a) Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Coordinator
(b) Chairperson, House of Representatives, law, Justice
and Parliamentary Affairs Committee Member
(c) Chairperson, Nepal Bar Association Member

Honorary Member: Government of Nepal may appoint five experts, in maximum, as Honorary Member from among the outstanding experts relating to the subjects deemed necessary by the Commission

Top comments (0)